Book Haul #1 (April – June 2017)

This was a great period for books and I did have some difficulties to hold myself of buying books. These are the new and older releases I acquired in April, May and June.

Death Note Volume III (Black Edition) by Tsugumi Ohba & Takeshi Obata (illustrator)  

BH_01After devouring Volumes I & II, I just couldn’t wait anymore to buy volume III. Although I haven’t had anytime yet to pick this one up, I’ll be soon coming to it as I can’t wait to see what else happens to Light Yagami and his gang. Volume II left on such a cliffhanger and the web of lies and deceit is getting bigger and bigger. I’m really amazed at how the story keeps evolving and getting bigger and bigger. Definitely one of my favourites mangas out there.

The Final Empire: Mistborn Book One (by Brandon Sanderson)

BH_02I finally bought this book. It’s been on my to read / to buy list for a few years now and I finally got around to buy it. Reading it will be another matter, because of all the other great May-releases I want to read first and this is a series I want to binge-read. That is why I immediately bought the second book in the series.

The Well of Ascension: Mistborn Book Two (by Brandon Sanderson)

BH_03And I have to say, these book are gorgeous. The combination of the white, the grey and the blue streaks on the covers (yes, I bought the UK-versions) make these beautiful additions on my shelves. I can’t wait to see what this story will give us. I did want to by the entire trilogy before starting to read this, as I heard from others that these end on a gigantic cliff hanger.  

A Court of Wings and Ruin (by Sarah J. Maas)

BH_04Finally, the third book is out. I’ve been waiting so long to get my hands on this book. A Court of Mist and Fury was my favourite book of 2016, so it took all my patience to wait until this third book came out. There was a problem with my delivery. Amazon wasn’t able to get this book to me the day it came out. I had to wait for about 3 weeks later to get my hands on it, which honestly is terrible for me, because I couldn’t concentrate on any other book. It was a long wait, but then I had it in my hands. You can already find my review for this book on this blog.

Thanks for the Feedback (by Douglas Stone & Sheila Heen)

BH_05This is a book that I didn’t buy myself, but I got it from work actually. They’re applying a whole new way of giving feedback (360°) and before starting with this, they wanted to give us a workshop about giving and receiving feedback. After a short 2 hours of just listening, we received this book to read and apply, not just in our work lives, but our personal lives as well.

I did feel that this little workshop wasn’t enough, and although I’m not usually a fan of non-fiction books, I do find myself rather looking forward picking this book up. It’s a subject that is important to me and that I think everyone can benefit from. So I hope to be able to get to it soon and maybe I’ll write a review about it.

The Hero of Ages: Mistborn Book Three (by Brandon Sanderson)

BH_06Off course I had to incorporate the third book. As told above, I wanted to have the entire trilogy before starting to read this book. This series is definitely for the summer, when I’m on holiday. I will definitely binge read this series to get all that I can possibly get out of it.

Lord of Shadows (by Cassandra Clare)

BH_07This is my second most anticipated book of this year. I fell in love with Lady Midnight and I’ve been in love with this series since the first book came out. I was afraid that it would become a bit boring and stretched, but Cassandra Clare keeps surprising me. So now I have this book in my hands and I’m currently reading it. (yes, I’m loving it so far).

Which of these books have you already read and with what book should I start? What did you buy these past few months? And which books did I totally forget to buy this month? Which book should be in my haul next time? Let me know in the comments below!

xoxo

BBL.

Leave a Reply

