Graphic Novel Review – Paper Girls Vol. 1 & 2 by Brian K. Vaughan, Cliff Chiang & Matthew Wilson

‘In the early hours after Halloween of 1988, four 12-year-old newspaper delivery girls uncover the most important story of all time. Suburban drama and otherworldly mysteries collide in this smash-hit series about nostalgia, first jobs, and the last days of childhood. Collects Paper Girls #1-5.’ (GoodReads) (144 & 128 pages, April 5th & November 30th, by Image Comics)

I was so surprised by these graphic novels. I loved them so much. At first, I must be honest, I was a bit confused. It does take a while to get into the stories and to understand where they want to go with it. You are introduced to a lot of different characters in only a few pages, all of whom are important and who will have an impact on the rest of the story.

PaperGirls_05

You first get a small idea of the group and how they work together, but you’re rapidly thrown into a more sci-fi happening and there they lost me for a second. We got a lot of different creatures, a lot of strange things that were happening all over the place. Even more characters were introduced and I just couldn’t put them in place. I couldn’t see where they were headed with the story.

PaperGirls_06

That is, until the end of the first volume. At a certain point it just clicked and everything suddenly made sense and I reread the first volume, just to be sure I got all the information I needed for the rest of the story. The second volume just added more to the craziness and the story. And now that I grasped it and knew who was who and where they were headed with the story, I enjoyed it so much. Reading the second volume, I actually remembered I had the same experience reading Saga, Brian K. Vaughan’s other series, and one of my all-time favourites.

PaperGirls_04

I enjoyed the second volume even more and I like where they are taking the story. In the second volume you get even more information on the world and what is happening. But the bad guys suddenly became the good guys and then back to the bad guys. And at the end you just don’t know who to trust anymore and what you have to think about the whole situation. I was in a ‘WTF’-state for the entire volume. The girls are left in a rather difficult situation at the end and I can’t wait to read where they’re headed next.

PaperGirls_07

The drawings are beautiful as well. They’re so detailed, but not overwhelming so as not to take away from the story. They just blended so well and added to the texture of the story. I already knew Brian K. Vaughan, but it was the first time I saw the drawings and the art from Matthew Wilson and Cliff Chiang, but I’ll definitely check some of their other works, because I enjoyed this one a lot.

4 out of 5 stars for the first volume and 4.5 out of 5 for the second one. Now onto the third one, which is coming out in August if I’m not mistaken.

Leave a Reply

