Book Reread – A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah. J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses

A Court of Thorns and Roses #1

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beastwith faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!’ (Goodreads) (416 pages, May 5th 2015, Bloomsbury’s Children)

ACOTAR_02

I reread the first two books because of the next installment that will come out really soon. I just wanted to get back into the stories and return to this beautiful world before diving into the new book.

This book tore my heart out, again and again.

This review may contain some small spoilers.

This is the first time I reread this book. Last time, when A Court of Mist and Fury came out, I just couldn’t wait and immediately jumped into it. And I remember that the first time I read A Court of Thorns and Roses I loved it, truly loved it. I devoured it in a few days. But my thoughts changed while reading A Court of Mist and Fury. I remember thinking that this second book was so much better than the first one. A Court of Thorns and Roses felt flat and uneventful (except the end off course) and the entire relationship between Tamlin and Feyre felt strange and wrong and it didn’t compare to how I felt reading the second book.

ACOTAR_05

Now rereading this book I got so much more out of it. Knowing what will happen in the rest of the book and the second one, just made me notice so many details that I’m sure I didn’t understand or just skipped reading while I read it for the first time. It made my enjoyment reading this book again so much better. Picking up things that are important for future events and just knowing what will happen with them and where the story will go. That made some things that happen in this book easier for me to connect to, because I know that this will all have an impact on Feyre or change drastically in the second book.

ACOTAR_06.jpg

I still have the feeling that the second book is way better (I am currently rereading A Court of Mist and Fury), but my love for the first book came back strong. We see Feyre grow and evolve from a huntress with a closed, icy heart to a woman who dares to open her heart. You can see her strength in all her decisions and even when sometimes she settles in her role as the stupid human just there to enjoy her time and not thinking and seeing further than her own eyes, you feel the person she can become.

ACOTAR_01

But this book does take it time to get to the point and to the more interesting parts. The first ¾ of the book we see Tamlin and Feyre grow towards each other and getting to know each other and the most interesting parts here are the steaming little scenes here and there. The last part of the story is where we see Feyre break over and over again and where we get our first taste of Rhysand, the love of my life. Ok, I know, unfortunately he’s only a character from a book. From the first moment we get a taste of him in Tamlin’s manor, until the way he saves Feyre, he’s in my personal opinion the most interesting character in this entire book. I especially enjoyed their ‘discussions’ at the end of the story.

ACOTAR_04

Just read it. It’s not the most beautifully written book, but it’s Sarah J. Maas. It’s familiar, it’s moving, it grabs you and takes you through all the emotions and makes you forget everything around you. And that’s the most important part off course when reading a book. So I immediately picked up the second book and am now devouring this as well. All this to prepare myself for the third one, A Court of Wings and Ruin.

4,5 out of 5 stars… Definitely rereading this book, this entire series again some time.

xoxo

BBL.

Leave a Reply

