Book Review – The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

the Unexp_01

by Morgan Matson

Andie had it all planned out. When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future. Important internship? Check. Amazing friends? Check. Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life. Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected. And where’s the fun in that?’ (Goodreads) (519 pages, May 3rd 2016, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)

I read this book in a few days while I was waiting for my copy of A Court of Wings and Ruin to come in the mail. And though I did enjoy it, my mind was already with my next read.

The beginning was a bit hard for me to get into. I’ve been reading a lot of fantasy lately, so switching back to contemporary reads was a bit difficult. But once I got into the flow and into the story, I actually rather enjoyed it.

The Unexp_03

We see Andie’s life going all crazy after her dad gets into this huge scandal. She’s not used to having him around the house. The struggle to find their relationship back was so fun to read about. And I do think that this was the most interesting storyline of the entire book for me. Just seeing how they both cope with this new situation, how they both find their way back to each other and decide to change it all up.

The Unexp_05

And when Clark steps into the story, the cuteness rises even more. Andie is not used to having relationships more than two-three weeks(?), I forgot the exact number. But here she gives it a shot. With all the difficulties that come with it off course. Because the summer is just that, perfect for a summer fling, not thinking about the end and what will happen after. A cute relationship in a cute novel. Perfect for a summer day reading.

The Unexp_04

What I also liked a lot in this book were the friendships. Andie has a gang of friends and they are inseparable. I especially liked the text-messages they sent to each other and that were incorporated in the book, with emoticons and all.

Overall I would say this is a perfect, light summer contemporary read for a very sunny day. 

3,5 out of 5 stars. I enjoyed it, but it did go a bit slow sometimes to me. I don’t know if it’s because I hadn’t read a contemporary read in awhile, or because of this book.

xoxo

BBL.

Leave a Reply

