Book Review – Crooked Kingdom

Crooked_01

by Leigh Bardugo

‘The hotly-anticipated sequel to the Carnegie Medal 2017 nominated SIX OF CROWS, this is GAME OF THRONES meets OCEAN’S ELEVEN in a fantasy epic from the number 1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Leigh Bardugo.

Welcome to the world of the Grisha.

After pulling off a seemingly impossible heist in the notorious Ice Court, criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker feels unstoppable. But life is about to take a dangerous turn – and with friends who are among the deadliest outcasts in Ketterdam city, Kaz is going to need more than luck to survive in this unforgiving underworld.’ (Goodreads) (536 pages, September 27th 2016, Orion Children’s Books)

I am so glad I waited until both these books were out before starting them, because I would have honestly died waiting for this second book. I fell in love with the first one, with the characters and the world. Leigh Bardugo is just a marvelous writer. She tore my heart out with her story and her words and now I’m desperately trying to find another book to help me out of this reading slump I’m in since reading this book. None compares for the moment.

This book was crazy. After a heist-story in the first book, we get to see it again but in their own town. And the stakes are even higher. Kaz is getting more extreme with every action, trying to find a way to fix things. They don’t know who to trust. They don’t know where to go. They went into hiding and trying to find a way to get Inej back. There is all this crazy stuff happening. And they are just trying to survive and trying to take down all those around them. 

Crooked_10.jpg

This is another book where I just couldn’t put it down. After every event, something else happened. We get to know a lot more about the background of different characters. This made me care even more for Inej, Kaz, Wylan and the others. And one heartbreaking event. Man, Leigh, my heart broke over and over again. I can totally understand it in the sense of the book and story, but when I don’t think rationally, I mean, No. No. No! If you have read this book, you’ll know what I’m talking about. 

Crooked_02

This has ups and downs, beautifull characters and a nice crafted story arc. And even though the story is and feels finished, I want more. I want to know what happens afterwards with our favourite characters. What are they doing now? Where are they going? Will they stay in Ketterdam or are they going to sail the world? So many questions and if Leigh Bardugo would ever write some short stories about them, I wouldn’t mind it at all.

4,5 out of 5 stars!! If only this story was a little longer. I want to know what happens after. I can’t wait to read the other stories she’s going to put out in this interesting world or in any other world she will create.

xoxo 

BBL.

Leave a Reply

