Series Review – Red Rising by Pierce Brown

Red Rising

‘Darrow is a Red, a member of the lowest caste in the color-coded society of the future. Like his fellow Reds, he works all day, believing that he and his people are making the surface of Mars livable for future generations.

Yet he spends his life willingly, knowing that his blood and sweat will one day result in a better world for his children.

But Darrow and his kind have been betrayed. Soon he discovers that humanity already reached the surface generations ago. Vast cities and sprawling parks spread across the planet. Darrow—and Reds like him—are nothing more than slaves to a decadent ruling class.

Inspired by a longing for justice, and driven by the memory of lost love, Darrow sacrifices everything to infiltrate the legendary Institute, a proving ground for the dominant Gold caste, where the next generation of humanity’s overlords struggle for power. He will be forced to compete for his life and the very future of civilization against the best and most brutal of Society’s ruling class. There, he will stop at nothing to bring down his enemies… even if it means he has to become one of them to do so.’ (Goodreads) (382 pages, January 8th, 2014, Del Rey, Random House)

This series was amazing. I just can’t express how much I liked it. I’ll mostly talk about The Red Rising series in general, because I don’t want to spoil anything, but I can already say that this entire series doesn’t disappoint at all. I find it really difficult to start this review. I read these books a few months ago, and I’m still feeling all the craziness and I just can’t wrap my head around how much I liked it.

Let me first start of with the characters. I loved Darrow. I never found him dull or the other way around to much. He was human and that was what I liked the most about him. He made mistakes, he took his responsibilities and never got this aura of ‘chosen one’ over him. The others put that on him, but he remained himself and that was so refreshing and made it easier for me to read. I liked Sevro and the howlers. I liked Mustang and the Jackal. I liked all the characters. Throughout the books they evolved. I learned to love some, as I learned to hate some others. I started to mistrust some of them, as well as being disappointed by others. It was just a roller coaster ride of emotions.

The same can be said about the plot. Each time they were happy and at ease in a situation, my gut started to twist and turn, because I just knew something awful was about to happen. Pierce Brown is a master in putting his most beloved characters in awful situation, where you just hope they will survive and find a safe way out. He has every situation in hand and solves it in a logical and very plausible way. It’s one of the best YA Sci-fi novels I’ve read in a while and I’m really sad it is over.

Now I’ve heard Pierce is writing a new (fantasy?) series and working on loads of new stuff and I’m so excited. He’s definitely some-one I’ll keep my eye on and I can’t wait to read his new material.

out of 5 stars, for the entire series! Definitely recommend if you love action-packed sci-fi, with new twist and turns at every new page.

xoxo

BBL.

 

Leave a Reply

