Review 3 – Shadowhunters: The Mortal Instruments

So the series is finally done and I can tell you what I thought of it in general, but I’m first going to give my review of the last 5 episodes.

Episode 9: ‘Rise Up’

I liked this one. I enjoyed the plot, the characters, still not sure about the relationship between Clary and Jace though, but they start growing on me. Simon is so funny. He is quite entertaining as a vampire. I could get used to this sort of episodes. The entire plot where they work together with the Downwolders to save Meliorn, against the clave was nice to see and actually something I missed in the other episodes. Here we actually got to see the Clary and Jace I love from the books. Their relationship isn’t really a fit for me though.

Episode 10: ‘This World Inverted’

Ok, why that ending? That changes everything. Every detail of the plot of the book changes and I don’t know how I feel about it. I’m confused on how they will continue if they keep telling us they ‘stay true’ to the stories, especially after they changed such a major plot point. I don’t know. The rest of the episode I enjoyed. It was action-packed. The way Jace worked with Meliorn to protect Clary, but still get that feeling that he actually wants to go after her.

Episode 11: ‘Blood Calls to Blood’

Is it just me or was it just so obvious from the beginning of this episode? I didn’t like the way he portrayed it and man, I don’t believe Jace when he was crying. Why do they portray him so weak? He wasn’t like that in the books. Nope, this undid all the good feelings I had after the last two episodes. I hope they change it and quickly. And can I just say, Malec, nooo. Harry Shum Jr. is growing on me as Magnus.

Episode 12: ‘Malec’

Yess…yess… Yess… Malec!!!! I don’t remember anything of this episode. Nothing… The Malec-moment was just the highlight of the entire episode for me!! Yessssssssssssssssssss.

Episode 13: ‘Morning Star’

Hmm. It was one of the better episodes of the entire series. But I don’t know if it’s a good season ending. It doesn’t give me the anxiety feeling that I’ll have to wait one year to know what happens. Now I’m like, okay well… if it’s one year or two year, I’ll be fine. That usually isn’t a good thing with me. I liked the way they ended the story in the Institute. I liked the way the ended Clary’s story with her mom… but the ending where we see Valentine on a boat, felt a bit flat to me. He’s crazy, so I expected a bit more to actually feel afraid of what will come in season 2.

In General

This series had its ups and downs, but overall I loved Malec, I loved Simon… Isabelle grew on me… Jace as well… I feel that Kat McNamara still isn’t the right choice for Clary. She grew a little bit in the series, but it just didn’t feel as the right fit to me. I actually don’t know if I’m going to watch it next year. But if I do, it’ll be for Simon, Alec and Magnus.

2 out of 5 stars

xoxo

BBL.

2 thoughts on “Review 3 – Shadowhunters: The Mortal Instruments

  1. Kat McNamara was a huge disappointment. I really tried, but I just can’t with her. Sadly, I like her as much as I like Dom as Jace, zero. My feelings for them are as strong as the chemistry between them: non-existent. Damn shame, because as you say, Malec and Isabelle are well portrayed (acting and characters improved through the season), and Alberto as Simon is just amazing! His acting is the only thing that made me keep watching. That and the hope for Clace to get better.

    But nuh-uh. Worst thing? I think the show has ruined Jace for me 😦

    • No, not Jace! Keep hope for him… Remember the books… Remember the good times 😉
      But for the rest I totally agree with you. For me there’s little chance I’ll give the new season a try, but I might give it a shot just for Malec… We’ll have to wait and see.

Leave a Reply

