Reading wrap up! January & February

I had quite good reading months these past two months. I read a total of 11 books and I really liked most of them. You can find book reviews on almost all of them on my blog, but I’ll try to give you a small synopsis of my thoughts here. I will do a graphic novels review later this year when I read some more, so I can talk about a few of them in one post.

  • Soundless by Richelle Mead

Soundless

The first book I read this month was Soundless. I quite liked it, but there were still some little things that I thought were a bit disappointing. I think it would have been better if she would have written a few 100 pages more. I think the characters developments would have been better for it. / 5

  • Tim Burton, entretiens avec Mark Salisbury by Mark Salisbury

Tim Burton

I liked this book quite a lot. It gave me a more in depth look on the film of Tim Burton and how he works. The greatest thing about this book was that Tim Burton himself gave information about the shoot, the preproduction and some anecdotes, while Mark Salisbury gave us more factual information, the numbers of movie-goers, other information. / 5

  • Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

4.2016

This fantasy book I adored, just simply adored. The characters were great, the world building was on point and just the entire story kept going, never giving us a single moment of rest. It was just a continuation of craziness after craziness. The only thing I can say is that it was a bit hard at the beginning to really understand how the different witches work and differ from each other, but I grasped it rather quickly. / 5

  • Freaks’ Squeele Vol. 1 & 2 by Florent Madoux

Freaks squeele 02

I loved this graphic novel so much. It was a crazy story with even crazier characters, but the development and the way this is heading makes me really excited for the rest of the series. Only bad thing is it took me the entire vol. 1 to really get into this story and to get hooked. So be patient, but give it a shot! 3,5 – 4 / 5

  • Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

6.2016

This book gave me all the feels! The second half of it was so action-packed and non-stop crazy that it took me only an afternoon to finish it. The first half was a bit long, but I think I’ll blame that on me being ill at the time and not on the book. ^^ Definitely will read the second one (which I need like right now!) / 5

  • Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

Warm Bodies

This was a bit of a disappointment for me. I expected more of it after watching the film, but I didn’t connect with the main character. It took me a long while to get used to the way the story was written and some of the things that happened just didn’t make sense to me. Maybe I should have read it before watching the film. Not making that mistake again that’s for sure. / 5

  • Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Carry on

I loved this book so much! It was funny and quirky. It was just a book I couldn’t put down. It has all the charm of a Rainbow Rowell book, but with the magic from Harry Potter. The characters were amazing and each one was so different, but still so fun to read about. This is definitely going to be a reread for me sometime. /5

  • Rubinrot by Kerstin Gier

Rubinrot

An enjoyable read. It sometimes felt a bit short and would have preferred if there was a bit more action. We got more questions than answers. The characters were enjoyable, but I feel they need to grow a bit more. The world building was great and I loved the time travel aspect of the book. It was a different take on it and one I can’t wait to read about in the second book to see how it continues to develop. 3/5

  • Red Rising by Pierce Brown

Red Rising

This book was amazing. So much better than I expected. It was action-packed. It just never stopped. Whenever you thought the characters would have some time to breath, something else would happen. It was a rollercoaster of emotion. The only point of critique I have is that it took me some time to get used to the world and the specific terminology of their society. Definitely 4/5

  • Golden Son by Pierce Brown

Golden Son

This was such a good sequel. I was a bit afraid at first because the first book was so specific and great and I wondered how he would take his story further in the political sphere. But I was glad of the way he did it. He stayed in the world he knew, but went to the next level and I’m glad I started this series. 4/5.

  • Morning Star by Pierce Brown

Morning Star

This was a perfect ending to a great series. It gave closure, but didn’t give too much information on how it all turned out. There were little things (I won’t spoil) that were shocking but in the end really satisfying and I liked the way he wrote this story and how all the characters turned out. I can’t wait to see what he writes next. 5/5.

So after all this I can say that I read at least 2 books of my most anticipated reads list of 2016 in only two months, which is great for me. I’m rather a slow reader, but these two months I flew through all of them like it was nothing. (Okay, except of Warm Bodies who took me nearly a year to get through. I just had to put it down at one point. sorry :s) How was your reading month? How many books did you love? Did you put any of them down?

Keep reading everyone!

xoxo

BBL.

Leave a Reply

