Book Review – Rubinrot by Kerstin Gier

Rubinrot

‘Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era!

Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon–the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.’ (Goodreads) (343 pages, January 9th, 2009, Arena Verlag)

I read this book in German because I felt my knowledge of this beautiful language fell a bit short, so what better way to learn it again than to do what I love most: read books. This was the perfect way to combine learning German again and enjoying a nice story.

It was a book full of questions and not really a lot of answers or action. I feel that the entire book I was waiting for something to happen and when she travelled in the past for the big confrontation, it wasn’t at all what I expected and it was just cut short.

I do love the characters. Gwendolyn is charming, but insecure and gets irritated when she doesn’t get answers. I think it’s refreshing when she actually fights to get answers and doesn’t expect everything to fall into her lap. But she still feels a bit immature, which I hope will change in the next book. Gideon is a typical YA-hero, handsome, and a bit bad. Just the way we like them.

I still liked the story and the developments, but I felt it could have been a bit more developed. But it was a good start to a series and to get to know the characters. Hopefully book two and three will get more interesting and maybe we will finally get some answers. I do have to say that her take on time travel is an interesting one and I can’t wait to see how it’s going to evolve and what the big secret is.

They also made a movie from this book, so now that’s the next step. Maybe I’ll do a movie review if I find it.

3 out of 5 stars…

xoxo

BBL.

Leave a Reply

