Book Review – Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

Warm Bodies

by Isaac Marion

”R’ is a zombie. He has no name, no memories and no pulse, but he has dreams. He is a little different from his fellow Dead.

Amongst the ruins of an abandoned city, R meets a girl. Her name is Julie and she is the opposite of everything he knows – warm and bright and very much alive, she is a blast of colour in a dreary grey landscape. For reasons he can’t understand, R chooses to save Julie instead of eating her, and a tense yet strangely tender relationship begins.

This has never happened before. It breaks the rules and defies logic, but R is no longer content with life in the grave. He wants to breathe again, he wants to live, and Julie wants to help him. But their grim, rotting world won’t be changed without a fight…’ (Goodreads) (240 pages, October 28th 2010, Random House Vintage)

This book kind of left me wanting more. I must say I saw the movie before I read the book. I don’t know if that’s why I didn’t like it so much or if it just because the book takes some time to getting used to and some time before the story picks up. Let me explain.

This book is written out of the perception of ‘R’. ‘R’ is a zombie. He explains to us what happened to the world and how he feels about everything and it’s just so slow. Okay, they’re zombies and they’re slow, but I just didn’t connect with the way of writing. I just didn’t connect to ‘R’. Which is something I didn’t have a problem with watching the movie. I think this is a story that works better with a visual medium like film, to bring every little aspect of the world to life.

The story itself also differs a bit from the movie. In the book he finds himself married with kids (?). I mean: what? This was just a concept about zombies that didn’t work in my head. I’ve seen different zombie movies and TV shows and I’ve read graphic novels, comic books and other books wit zombies, and they made more sense. I do have to credit Isaac Marion for his idea. A zombie who heals himself because of love, is just a lovely idea and story. I feel it’s better told in the film than in the book.

It was still an enjoyable read, but not really the perfect read for the point i’m in my life. Maybe I should have read it, before watching the film. What do you guys think? If you’ve read this book, what did you think of it? Let me know in the comments!

out of 5 stars.

xoxo

BBL.

Leave a Reply

