Book Review – Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Throne of Glass #3

Throne of Glass #3

‘Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien’s only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: as the King of Adarlan’s Assassin, she is bound to serve this tyrant, but he will pay for what he did. Any hope Celaena has of destroying the king lies in answers to be found in Wendlyn. Sacrificing his future, Chaol, the Captain of the King’s Guard, has sent Celaena there to protect her, but her darkest demons lay in that same place. If she can overcome them, she will be Adarlan’s biggest threat – and his own toughest enemy. While Celaena learns of her true destiny, and the eyes of Erilea are on Wendlyn, a brutal and beastly force is preparing to take to the skies. Will Celaena find the strength not only to win her own battles, but to fight a war that could pit her loyalties to her own people against those she has grown to love?’ (Goodreads) (565 pages, Bloomsbury Children)

Before this book came out I wanted to reread the entire series including the novellas book, so I was totally prepared for this book. And man did I need it! The entire series captured me from the beginning. Throne of Glass is amazing. It is a perfect introduction to a captivating world were magic was banned and one assassin has to fight against lots of thieves, soldiers and other men for her freedom. Crown of Midnight takes the entire world of Throne of Glass, and takes it to an entire other level. This book was so much better on so many levels. It’s just that the entire series gets bigger and bigger. I’m so glad Sarah J. Maas got published and has also an entire new series coming out next year. She’s has become one of my all time favorite authors! I also read The Assassin’s Blade. This book consists of different novellas telling different stories from Celaena that happened before Throne of Glass. We get to meet Sam, see what she went through with the Silent Assassins and some more. And then we have Heir of Fire. 

And my oh my… this book gave me all the feels. I don’t even know where to begin with this one. It took me some time to get through this. It was one of my favorites books of all time. It took me two weeks to read it, while I normally fly through such books. I don’t know if it was school or just being tired, or the book itself… But I did love it so much. We get to meet some new characters and there was less love and romantic stuff in this book, which was such a refreshing thing. The development in this story felt just right and keeps getting me excited for the things to come. And it’s going to be epic… I just know it…

out of 5 stars, and I can’t wait until the next book and I don’t want to wait this long… So Sarah J. Maas… Get on with it!! I need me some more Celaena & Chaol in my life!

Leave a Reply

