Book Review – Shadows by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Lux #0.5

Lux #0.5

‘The last thing Dawson Black expected was Bethany Williams. As a Luxen, an alien life form on Earth, human girls are…well, fun. But since the Luxen have to keep their true identities a secret, falling for one would be insane. Dangerous. Tempting. Undeniable. Bethany can’t deny the immediate connection between her and Dawson. And even though boys aren’t a complication she wants, she can’t stay away from him. Still, whenever they lock eyes, she’s drawn in. Captivated. Lured. Loved. Dawson is keeping a secret that will change her existence…and put her life in jeopardy. But even he can’t stop risking everything for one human girl. Or from a fate that is as unavoidable as love itself.’ (Goodreads) (179 pages, 21st february 2012, Entangled Publishing)

I decided to read this novella before Opposition comes out in september. I just can’t wait for that last book and I can’t wait to read it and to know how this series ends. So to get back in that world I read this novella.

I did like it. But I didn’t love it. It was nice to read about how Dawson and Bethany met, also because their relationship has a big impact on Daemon and Katy… But they aren’t my favorites in this series… So while I liked it a lot, I didn’t love it…

I thought their relationship was a bit to quick to develop and I didn’t like Bethany that much. I had the feeling the author didn’t develop her character that much and that’s what bothered me the most I think. I have the feeling I know Dawson more, because of Daemon and Dee and the other books. I do hope that I learn more about her in Opposition. But I’m glad I read it, because their relationship was a bit hazy in the other books. And now I understand some of Daemon’s reactions more.

3 out of 5 stars! I still liked Jennifer Armentrout’s writing a lot! One of my favorite author’s of all time!

Leave a Reply

