Book Review – We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

by E. Lockhart

by E. Lockhart

‘A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.
We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart. 
Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.’ (Goodreads) (240 pages, 13th May, 2014, Delacorte Press)

This book has had many different reviews and after finish reading it a few days, I still don’t know if I loved it or just liked it… There were definitely parts I found weird and just didn’t understand. Also the way the writer wrote some parts were just so strange I didn’t know what was real or just in her head.

Overall I liked the story and the different way the story went. I didn’t have any idea what the story was before I started this book. And I’m glad I went into it not knowing it. It made the story so much more fascinating to just see where the story took me. And I did like the overall concept of the story. It was a gripping tale of a big and well-known family and tells us how different a family actually functions than what we perceive on the outside. 

The only thing that bothered me a bit was how the author decided to tell a few parts of the plot. I liked it for the most part, but sometimes the character telling the story went a bit overboard with the descriptions. Where I thought there were actual things happens, apparently it was just her describing how he felt at that moment… When you think something bad happened that would change the entire story and it didn’t happen at all, it does leave you with an empty feeling and most of the time, I was reading this book thinking: what the f***? 

But I did like this book. I read it in only two sitting… which is really strange for me, because I normally don’t have the time to read a book in one sitting… Now I just took the time and even send my mother away when she came asking me to come to dinner… So it definitely shows that this book had me in its grip…

4 out of 5 stars… just her writing bugged me a bit, but such an interesting concept!

Leave a Reply

