Book Review – Cress by Marissa Meyer

The Lunar Chronicles #3

The Lunar Chronicles #3

‘In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army. Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice. When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.’ (Goodreads) (550 pages, 4th february 2014, Feiwel & Friends)

Wait, what? I have to wait until november 2015? 2015? Seriously? I can’t! I just can’t… I loved Cress. It was so action packed and Cress was so adorable as a character. I just can’t wait until Winter comes out.

In this book Cinder and her band of friends decide to go rescue Cress because she has helped them and their spaceship to be unnoticed by everyone… Cinder also believes Cress can help her to find a way to defeat Levana. And the entire story is just so exciting and it keeps going. At first I was a bit scared it would be boring because this book was a little bit bigger than Cinder and Scarlet, but it was just from one point to another in the plot and it just wouldn’t end. We met a few new characters and we get to know a bit more about Winter, the other princess from Luna… and she seems like an… interesting character I will say… It just keeps me wanting more and I’ll definitely reread the entire series before Winter comes out.

The only negative point I think was that there wasn’t so much about Scarlet in this book… I missed her a little after her book. We get to see a lot about Wolf, who wasn’t my favorite in this book! I understand why he acts like that in this book, but still… I find it a little to much. I hope he’s a little different in Winter. But Scarlet I really missed her! She was there in the book and I loved reading about her, but I would have liked to know a bit more about her.

Cinder was back and better than ever! I like her character so much and she tries to do her best, but she doesn’t know how. But for a sixteen-year-old she’s really mature and isn’t afraid to ask for help. Cress is a cute girl that is thrust in a world she doesn’t know with a guy she had a crush on for forever and tries to make the best out of it. And I can’t wait to see how she’ll evolve in the rest of the story. And Captain Thorne… I mean, hello… I didn’t like him that much in Scarlet, but we get to know him in an entire different way in this book and I just fell in love with him. He keeps his word and has a bad image of himself, but he keeps on trying. He has a lot of trouble in this book and something bad happens to him, but he keeps on going! And that’s why I like him so much I think.

I could keep on and on with this book… But I’ll stop here… Definitely 5 out of 5 stars. And nog I’ll be waiting until November next year… sigh 😦

Leave a Reply

