Book Review – Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

The Lunar Chronicles #2

The Lunar Chronicles #2

‘Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison–even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive. Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.’ (Goodreads) (452 pages, 5th february 2013, Feiwel and Friends)

Oh my god, I loved this book! Marissa Meyer is back with an awesome fairytale retelling and even though you kinda know how it will end… It’s still very entertaining. You know very soon that Scarlet and Wolf connect on some weird way, but I didn’t think it took anything away from the story. It’s refreshing to read a story where the characters meet so soon and connect so soon in the story. I liked it a lot.

The many plot twists were captivating and I couldn’t put this book down. Scarlet is a strong character with a deep love for her grandmother. She’ll go to the other side of the world if she had to. It was nice to see a character with such a view of the world. The only thing that bothered me a bit was her relationship with her father. I won’t spoil anyone, but I do think she was a bit hard on him. It doesn’t go with the love she carries for her grandmother.

Wolf is an interesting character. Throughout the book, we get to know him and see different sides of him. And I felt in love with him. I still prefer Emperor Kai, but I like the roughness in Wolf and the way he handles his problems. But I wasn’t ok with some of his decisions, but I’m excited to read what happens with him and Scarlet in Cress.

And Cinder is back! Hell to the yes! I love her. She’s as strong as ever and she’s resourceful. She’s seriously one of my favorites ever. This time around she’s on the way with Captain Thorne. He’s an interesting character, but he still has to grow on me, I guess. Emperor Kai is still desperately to find a way to save his country and the entire planet from queen Levana. And she’s still as big a manipulative bitch as always.

In this book, we get a lot more information about the world and I’m glad about it, because it still was a bit hazy in Cinder. I can’t wait to see where it goes in the next book.

out of 5 stars. And now onto reading Cress.

Leave a Reply

