Book Review – A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks

Nicholas Sparks

Nicholas Sparks

‘Every April, when the wind blows from the sea and mingles with the scent of lilacs, Landon Carter remembers his last year at Beaufort High. It was 1958, and Landon had already dated a girl or two. He even swore that he had once been in love. Certainly the last person in town he thought he’d fall for was Jamie Sullivan, the daughter of the town’s Baptist minister. A quiet girl who always carried a Bible with her schoolbooks, Jamie seemed content living in a world apart from the other teens. She took care of her widowed father, rescued hurt animals, and helped out at the local orphanage. No boy had ever asked her out. Landon would never have dreamed of it. Then a twist of fate made Jamie his partner for the homecoming dance, and Landon Carter’s life would never be the same. Being with Jamie would show him the depths of the human heart and lead him to a decision so stunning it would send him irrevocably on the road to manhood…’ (Goodreads) (240 pages, 1st september 2004, Grand Central Publishing)

This story has always been one of my favorites… each time I watched the movie I cried and cried and I will even go so far as to say that I like this one more than the Notebook. I love The Notebook, don’t get me wrong… But this story has more depth to it for me and has a deeper meaning. I like dark and twisted love stories…

So when I saw this book on Amazon I just had to buy it and read it, because I still hadn’t read it… I watched the movie… A lot… But I never read the story… So I bought it… I read it… And I loved it…

It was well written and normally I don’t like male point of views… Because I prefer strong female characters. I just can’t always connect with male characters. But here it was ok… The first chapter was strange because he jumped from one point in time to another and it was a bit of rambling to get to know him… The story only really started for me when Jamie came into class… From then on it was a really quick read and a story that’ll stick with me till the end…

The only thing I didn’t like that much was all the religious stuff. I know that it is part of the story and it makes sense from her perspective… But Landon was talking a lot about it while he didn’t believe in it. It took me a little while to get over it, but once the story got on with it, it was less of an issue for me.

4,5 out of 5 stars… I’ll definitely reread it before I re-watch the movie for the millionth time…

Leave a Reply

