Book Review – Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Delirium #1

Delirium #1

‘Ninety-five days, and then I’ll be safe. I wonder whether the procedure will hurt. I want to get it over with. It’s hard to be patient. It’s hard not to be afraid while I’m still uncured, though so far the deliria hasn’t touched me yet. Still, I worry. They say that in the old days, love drove people to madness. The deadliest of all deadly things: It kills you both when you have it and when you don’t.’ (Goodreads) (441 pages, 7th february 2012, HarperCollins)

This book is a reread for me. I read this back in the day when it came out. I did remember I liked it, but I didn’t know what exactly about it I liked so much… And I read it as an e-book because I was on Erasmus in Rome at that time. I was in a reading slump back then and it did really help me get out of it.

So when I saw that these books were sold for really cheap on Amazon I decided to buy the entire series and marathon them, starting with rereading Delirium. And I did like it!

I now remember why I liked it so much: I just totally relate to Lena, as a personality. I don’t think that love is a disease… But, I do am afraid of letting people near me. So I did feel she was really close to me. Her journey is totally compelling and it pulled me in… I was reading the end of this book when I was on the bus and I nearly missed my stop! Luckily I had to get of at the end of the line, so when the bus stopped driving, I thought to look up and saw we arrived. So yes, I did like the end.

I immediately jumped in Pandemonium, because I couldn’t wait anymore… And it’s strange… Really strange book. More to come in that review.

But I gave Delirium out of 5 stars… And definitely one I will read from time to time I think. Now I can’t wait to watch the pilot of the series that Hulu put on the internet for a month. Review of that coming soon too!

Leave a Reply

