Book Review – A Storm of Swords: Steel and Snow by George R.R. Martin

A Song of Ice and Fire #3 (1/2)

A Song of Ice and Fire #3 (1/2)

Split into two books for the paperback, the third volume in George R.R. Martin’s superb and highly acclaimed epic fantasy A Song of Ice and Fire continues the richest, most exotic and mesmerising saga since The Lord of the Rings. The Seven Kingdoms are divided by revolt and blood feud, and winter approaches like an angry beast. Beyond the Northern borders, wildlings leave their villages to gather in the ice and stone wasteland of the Frostfangs. From there, the renegade Brother Mance Rayder will lead them South towards the Wall. Robb Stark wears his new-forged crown in the Kingdom of the North, but his defences are ranged against attack from the South, the land of House Stark’s enemies the Lannisters. His sisters are trapped there, dead or likely yet to die, at the whim of the Lannister boy-king Joffrey or his depraved mother Cersei, regent of the Iron Throne. And Daenerys Stormborn will return to the land of her birth to avenge the murder of her father, the last Dragon King on the Iron Throne.’ (Goodreads) (625 pages, 7th April 2001, Simon Pulse)

I love the world of Game of Thrones so much! George R.R. Martin definitely made an awesome world that I love going back to. I love the series. I love the books. I love the characters. I love everything about it. I won’t say which I prefer, the series or the books, because I feel it’s an opportunity for me, for all of us, to go back into this world and to this characters we love so much. So why do we have to choose, if we can have them both?

I also read the graphic novels based on the books. And I like them all. The three are totally different… They change the stories and adapt them to their form. You can’t show the thoughts of the characters that are written in the books… But I like the way they all adapt the stories to their own form of telling stories.

So about this book now… I loved it… There’s actually not much more to this review then my deep deep love for this world, for this story, for these characters… The only problem I have is that they are so long! I seriously can’t read them in one sitting… But that’s okay, I think… I do love them and I always go back to them and think about the books when I’m not reading them.

I think I actually keep going back because of George R.R. Martins’ writing. He really describes everything so clearly and with so much detail. You really get the feeling that you’re in the world with the characters. You feel with them. You love them. You hate them. I find it just so amazing and interesting how George R.R. Martin can keep you connected with all these different characters. He keeps introducing new ones. He keeps killing them off.

I’m just so aaaargh… I love this book so much! I seriously can’t wait to read the rest of them. I already know what will happen, but it’s still interesting to read about it all. I gave this book a 5 out of 5 stars.

One thought on “Book Review – A Storm of Swords: Steel and Snow by George R.R. Martin

  1. This book completely blew my mind. Best in the series so far! I just started re-reading the series again….I can read these books over and over and over again and not get tired of them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

