Book Review – The Fault in our Stars by John Green

The Fault in our Stars

The Fault in our Stars

‘Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.’ (Goodreads) (313 pages, 10th January 2012 by Dutton Books)

There are these books that stay with you forever and I just know that ‘The Fault in our Stars’ is one of them. I laughed. I cried. I felt everything. And then I cried some more. There are few books that completely drew me in and then spit me out knowing that, for me to go back into that world I had to reread this book and feel all those feelings again. And damn, those feelings hurt.

In this book we meet Hazel, a girl with cancer but especially with intelligence and humor, who decides that her life is not her cancer but that she has to deal with it. Then we meet Augustus, a dreamy, hot guy who had cancer and lost a leg in the process of battling his inner demons. He hides behind a sparkling personality and a lot of humor, his fear of being forgotten. These two fall in love.

What follows is the most romantic, thought-provocing love story that I ever read. I felt in love with the characters. Hazel for being so charming and intelligent for her age. Augustus for being his gorgeous and funny self. Isaac for being the friend who’s always there, even when he’s battling his own problems. Hazel’s parents, Augustus’s parents… Even that writer, Mr. Van Houten, because in his own way, he helped shape their relationship and the people they would eventually become.

I must say this story is beautifully written and I wouldn’t have been so engrossed by the story if John Green had written it differently. It was perfect. Every chapter left me wanting more. I had the feeling I was inside her head and feeling along with her. The style of his writing was just so capturing that I wonder why it took me so long to pick this book up.

I gave it 5 out of 5 stars… Well deserved. I’ll definitely reread it again and again. Because I miss it already and I want to feel all those feelings again and I want to think about it more. I can’t wait to read the other books John Green wrote.

I can say without hesitation that this book changed my life. If you haven’t read it… Go read it… now what are you waiting for? GO!

One thought on “Book Review – The Fault in our Stars by John Green

Leave a Reply

