Book Review – The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa

The Iron Fey #3

The Iron Fey #3

‘The New York Times Bestseller
My name is Meghan Chase.
I thought it was over. That my time with the fey, the impossible choices I had to make, the sacrifices of those I loved, was behind me. But a storm is approaching, an army of Iron fey that will drag me back, kicking and screaming. Drag me away from the banished prince who’s sworn to stand by my side. Drag me into the core of conflict so powerful, I’m not sure anyone can survive it.
This time, there will be no turning back.’ (Goodreads) (358 pages; 25th January 2011 by Harlequin Teen)

I’ve read this book over a long period of time because it resembled the first book a bit. The beginning was somehow a bit slow for me… I had the weird feeling that I was rereading the first book because they started in the mortal world, then they went to the fey world and then they continued to the Iron Kingdom and afterwards they had to go back to the summer court. I don’t know, it was really weird for me. I think that was the reason I didn’t connect to much with this book.

Overall, when I put myself past that point, I quite enjoyed the story. Especially the last quarter of the book, when the action finally kicked in and it didn’t resemble anything I’ve read before in this series. It was page after page filled with battles and suspense en that last part was really interesting and fascinating to read.

I just love Meghan and Ash. Those two characters are so adorable together and their relationship isn’t perfect and that’s what I like most about it. They have problems with one anothers decisions and the problems they have are actually quite interesting and in a way it is captivating because we learn a lot about the fey mythology.

I gave this book a 3,5 star-rating because of the beginning. Still I can’t wait to read book 4.

The Iron Fey #1.5

The Iron Fey #1.5

‘Meghan Chase used to be an ordinary girl..until she discovered that she is really a faery princess. After escaping from the clutches of the deadly Iron fey, Meghan must follow through on her promise to return to the equally dangerous Winter Court with her forbidden love, Prince Ash. But first, Meghan has one request: that they visit Puck–Meghan’s best friend and servant of her father, King Oberon–who was gravely injured defending Meghan from the Iron Fey. Yet Meghan and Ash’s detour does not go unnoticed. They have caught the attention of an ancient, powerful hunter–a foe that even Ash may not be able to defeat…. An eBook exclusive story from Julie Kagawa’s Iron Fey series.’ (Goodreads) (49 pages, 1st June 2010 by Harlequin Teen) (ebook)

After this book I actually read the e-novella: Winter’s Passage (The Iron Fey 1,5) by Julie Kagawa. It was not the best story I’ve ever read by Julie Kagawa and it isn’t because I read it after book 3 and it’s actually a story that happens between book 1 and 2. But I just couldn’t connect with it. It tells us how Megan arrived at the Winter Court and what happened in that brief moment of time. But for me it didn’t feel necessary. I was content with not knowing how she got there. I suspected that Ash had got her there and that’s what happened. But the fact that she was chased on her way over there by some dangerous beast, was not really necessary for the story.

I gave this novella a 2.5 – 3 star rating.

One thought on “Book Review – The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa

Leave a Reply

