Book Review – City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

The Mortal Instruments #6

The Mortal Instruments #6

‘In this dazzling and long-awaited conclusion to the acclaimed Mortal Instruments series, Clary and her friends fight the greatest evil they have ever faced: Clary’s own brother.
Sebastian Morgenstern is on the move, systematically turning Shadowhunter against Shadowhunter. Bearing the Infernal Cup, he transforms Shadowhunters into creatures out of nightmare, tearing apart families and lovers as the ranks of his Endarkened army swell.
The embattled Shadowhunters withdraw to Idris – but not even the famed demon towers of Alicante can keep Sebastian at bay. And with the Nephilim trapped in Idris, who will guard the world against demons?
When one of the greatest betrayals the Nephilim have ever known is revealed, Clary, Jace, Isabelle, Simon, and Alec must flee – even if their journey takes them deep into the demon realms, where no Shadowhunter has set foot before, and from which no human being has ever returned…
Love will be sacrificed and lives lost in the terrible battle for the fate of the word in the thrilling final installment of the classic urban fantasy series The Mortal Instruments!’ 
(Goodreads) (725 pages; 27th march 2014 by McElderry Books)

O…M…G…
this book was so good! I enjoyed it the moment I started and every page since then until the last page. It was just that good and entertaining and a satisfying end to the series.

The characters deal with problem after problem and at first, with seeing the book (it is huge!!) I thought: oh dear, this is going to take forever to get through… I had that problem with City of Fallen Angels and a little bit with City of Lost Souls… but with this one I had no problem at all. The only reason it took me so long to read is because I have exams and I had to make a choice 😦 so, I studied and then read a bit at night… so now I’m really tired because I’ve been reading until midnight or one in the morning an entire week. But I’m glad I did because this book is definitely one of my favorites!

Clary and Jace are adorable as ever. You really see them evolve in this book and open up more to each other and to their friends. Simon and Isabelle take a big part in this story as well. And in fact what I liked the most in this book is that we follow all the characters. It is not just about Clary and Jace anymore, but we get to see what Isabelle is thinking, what Simon is thinking. We get to see Magnus and Raphael interact with each other. We see Alex grow and we read about his relationship with his father and everything. And we get to know a lot of new characters who are just adorable! And they are the main characters of the Dark Artifices.

At first, I was reluctant to read her new series, because I wanted to see what other stories in other worlds Cassandra Clare could create, but with knowing these new characters and see them go through a lot in this book, I can say that I’m impatiently waiting on Lady Midnight to come out. I want to know what becomes of them! And I want to know it now! But it only comes out in fall of 2015!! So I’ll have to wait a bit longer. Unfortunately.

However I’m glad City of Heavenly Fire is out and I’m so glad that I read it and that I discovers this series and the beautiful writing of Cassandra Clare. And I can’t wait to see what she’s planning to do with Emma, Julian and the others.

5 out of 5 stars… Actually if I could, I would give it more than 5 stars… I loved it that much!!

Leave a Reply

